Create and edit users | Civio Engage Knowledge Base     [Skip to content](#main)  [ ![Civio Engage Knowledge Base](/civio-light.svg) ](https://nginx.deploy-lagoon-production.civio-engage-docs.dh1.amazee.io)  [Product documentation](/articles) [Release notes](/releases) [Roadmap](/roadmap) [ Support portal ](https://nginx.deploy-lagoon-production.civio-engage-docs.dh1.amazee.io/portal/login)   Toggle navigation      

  [Product documentation](/articles) [Release notes](/releases) [Roadmap](/roadmap) [Support portal](https://nginx.deploy-lagoon-production.civio-engage-docs.dh1.amazee.io/portal/login)  

  1. [Home](/) ›
2. [Product documentation](/articles) ›
3. [User management](/articles?category=5) ›
4. Create and edit users

 Create and edit users
=====================

Updated 2 days ago · 3 min read

 Search     Search  

### How to create, edit and delete users

To manage your Civio Engage users, use the People tab on the Top-level menu.

![The People list, showing all users currently registered on the site along with their roles.](https://engage.knowledge.civ.io/storage/ldToH5ZNscRmYhslHyVpm2qykzwl3Vn78a9tVPJB.png)

The People window displays all users currently registered with your Civio Engage website. You can view roles and registration details, and add new users.

*Note: You may not have permission to add, remove, or view users. To query your permissions status contact your Civio Engage administrator.*

Creating a new user
-------------------

When adding a new user, you must assign an appropriate system role to that user.

A system role is a role with application-wide permissions, such as permission to access the dashboard. It is not specific to a team or project.

Click [here](/articles/9176861358095-User-roles) for more info on the available system roles.

To create a new user:

1. Log in to your Civio Engage website.
2. In the top right of your screen, click your username, then Dashboard.
3. In the left-hand menu, click **People**. This takes you to the **All users** window.
4. Click on the **+** icon located on the right hand side of the screen.
5. Provide a display name. The recommended format is Firstname.Lastname.
6. Provide a unique email address.
7. Assign a system role to the user. This grants the user application-wide permissions. Make sure you assign the right role for this user's required level of access. Never assign a user more access than is required for their role.
8. Select a Team and Team role, if applicable.
9. Click **Save** to confirm changes.

![The create-user form, showing fields for display name, email address, system role, and Team / Team role.](https://engage.knowledge.civ.io/storage/SuFT2aVLQqgsNUHgg3P3BoUKJ3vtfAhhswRdIXZP.png)

Once you have created an account for a new user, they will be able to access their account via the Login button at the top of your Civio Engage website. New users will need to set up a new password to login.

For more information about logging in as a new user, click [here](/articles/9176717158031-Login-to-your-site).

Edit a user
-----------

You can assign users different roles and permissions at any time.

To edit a user:

1. Log in to your Civio Engage website.
2. In the top right of your screen, click your username, then Dashboard.
3. In the left-hand menu, click **People**. This takes you to the **All users** window.
4. Select the user you want to edit.
5. Update the user's details or change their roles, team and team role, and projects.
6. **Save** your changes.

![A user selected from the People list, ready to edit their roles, team and team role.](https://engage.knowledge.civ.io/storage/25lE3dmmWQzIDzF2cupUNMURAuKu4aRjz5hhs4cn.png)

Delete a user
-------------

*Important: deleting a user from your Civio Engage website will lose all their associated roles and permissions, and cannot be undone.*

To delete a user:

1. Log in to your Civio Engage website.
2. In the top right of your screen, click your username, then Dashboard.
3. In the left-hand menu, click **People**. This takes you to the All users window.
4. Select the user you want to delete.
5. Click on the **Delete** tab.
6. A prompt will warn you that this action cannot be undone. **Click Yes, Delete** this user to proceed.
7. The user is now deleted.

![The delete confirmation dialog for a user, warning that the action cannot be undone.](https://engage.knowledge.civ.io/storage/M1t0htuoB3xxpyzEqgOWvsxnuP4OS3DxBjZcKrEh.png)

Was this article helpful?
-------------------------

Your feedback helps us prioritise what to rewrite.

      Yes     No  

 [    Back to User management ](/articles?category=5) 

 On this page 

### Still need help?

Raise a request in the support portal and track it to resolution.

 [ Submit a support request ](https://nginx.deploy-lagoon-production.civio-engage-docs.dh1.amazee.io/portal/login)

Submit a support request through the [support portal](/portal) or email .

 © 2026 [Civio](https://civ.io) [Privacy Policy](/articles/privacy-policy) [Terms of Use](/articles/terms-of-use)
